Are you depressed by the turn in global events? You could hang your head and stand in the pouring rain, OR you could distract yourself with some great reads! I have a couple of recommendations for you (because when real life isn’t going your way, you need some fantasy to take you to a brand new world):

Carol Berg’s Transformation (Book one of the Rai-Kirah Series):

cover-full

I really like the series as a whole, but Transformation is a book that I have read many times over. It is exciting and well crafted, and the end never fails to put a smile on my face.

Also, for those of you who have asked me for titles of books to gauge what The Storms Trilogy is like, this is definitely one of them.

*

Pierce Brown’s Red Rising (Book one of the series by the same name):

red_rising_2014

Love the Hunger Games? Love dystopian fantasy/sci-fi? This book is for you. I was truly engrossed and had to ignore my family while reading this. If the premise doesn’t hook you, then read it for the main character, Darrow; Pierce Brown has created an empowering anti-stereotype of a man, and I applaud him for it.

*

Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go:

never_let_me_go

This book broke my heart. It is beautiful and haunting in a creative and unexpected way. I don’t want to give it away, but I can gush about this book for hours. Give it a go.

*

Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials Trilogy:

Not everyone agrees with me about these books, but I think that they are fantastic. I remember reading The Golden Compass, where Philip Pullman paints such a clear image of a world where every person’s psyche exists as a physical and separate entity, and being in such shock when a child was found without his animal companion. I had to put the book down and pace about the room before I could continue reading!

