In retrospect, the idea of starting a serial the week before NaNoWriMo began does not seem to be the smartest thing I could have done. There is a little voice at the back of my mind that says “you can do both, Anna!”. But the truth is, I am not good at multitasking when it comes to writing. I find that I really benefit by immersing myself in the work that I am creating, and to switch back and forth, even for a short serial chapter, would result in a lesser quality product where both pieces are concerned.

So this means that my serial will have to wait until December, but it’s all for a good cause. I am on target with my writing again, and thanks to some motivation, I have overcome my day 3 writing block. I also (for the first time) took part in a write in with someone I had never met before (I’ve written with friends, but never another NaNoWriMo participant). My concerns about not being able to focus were unfounded, because I wrote a great scene and had little to no problems working in a busy coffee shop (while sipping on delicious Yerba Mate tea). The lovely writer I worked was working on a wonderfully creative story and I am excited to have been part of her process, even for an afternoon.

How is your NaNoWriMo going?

