In the weeks since I have begun my true, full-fledged push to self-publish my book, I have been trying to perfect my product (Fay Storms is looking amazing! I am in awe of what all that hard work has resulted in), to learn about how to self-publish, and to grown my reader base (or rather, create a reader base from virtually nothing). I love learning, which means that I don’t mind doing some old fashioned nose to the grindstone reading, researching and note taking/plan making, but I did notice that my self-publishing aspirations have impacted my writing time in a way that I had not expected.

This morning, an article in the Economist titled Entrepreneurs Anonymous caught my attention. It talks about the true cost of entrepreneurship and how to be your own boss means being responsible for things you never even thought about when you were working for someone. I think that being a writer, and self-publishing in particular, is a type of entrepreneurship. In my decision to publish, I have become my own boss, marketing strategist, sales representative, website designer and social media content writer, content editor, legal team, etc. etc. etc. You name it. Are any of these things what I envisioned when I set off to write? Nope. Did I discover an amazing talent for any of these things? I guess time will tell once the book is out.

The bottom line is that even though I am currently doing this full time (I am lucky that way, or maybe unlucky, since I was working in a job I had to leave for my own sanity) my days are completely full. I am working toward my self-imposed book release date of December 19, 2016 (put it in your calendars!) from the moment I wake up, until I go to sleep. It’s true, I might not be doing everything the most time efficient way, but that is likely to happen when doing something so completely new to me.

But when do I get to write?

I’ve been diligent about posting on my blog (because I enjoy it, and it’s a nice way for me to reflect on what I’ve done so far), but I have worked little on book three of the Storms Trilogy since mid October. I am not going to loose sleep over it now, but I do want to get back to my passion: writing. In Natalie Goldberg’s wonderful book Writing Down the Bones she talks about the writing practice and how, much like anything else, a writer needs to keep up their writing on a consistent basis. I am a big believer in this, and in fact, I think my writing becomes more fluid, more efficient, and certainly just more, when I do it on a regular basis.

So the moral of today’s post is this: I will continue to learn about and work hard at self-publishing, but I will set aside time every day for writing. Good thing that National Novel Writing Month is just around the corner to motivate me!

Happy Monday

